Guilty

March #SOLC17 Day 14

sol[1]

I like soap operas.

I. Like. Soap. Operas.

There.  I said it.  I’m guilty.

It’s a good evening when, after a day of work, I can make my way to the couch to sit with my computer in my lap while the T.V. plays in in the background. Mindless T.V. is best. Nothing too deep or emotional.  The show; This is Us, that everyone in the world is talking about, is absolutely out of the question.  I’m not up for crying buckets in front of the T.V. at night.   All I need is an ongoing story line with characters that I’m familiar with and can expect consistency from.

General Hospital does exactly this for me.  I can miss days, even weeks of this show and the minute I turn it on again I can easily pick up exactly where I left off without missing a beat. Soap operas are like that – they go to great lengths to make sure that their subtleties are not lost on us.  Dramatic facial expressions, repeating of lines over and over… the picture is painted so clearly that we’re pretty much hit over the head with it.

And you know what?  Sometimes that is exactly what I need.

10 thoughts on “Guilty

  1. haha…I love your confession. I expected something else. I’m not sure what, but not that. Soap operas aren’t my thing, but gimme some trashy Bachelor, and I’m happy!

  2. I watched General Hospital as a kid, and got right back into it a few months ago. It is amazing that 40 years later, many of the same actors are on the show, just with scary, tightly pulled back faces. I miss All My Children. That was another favorite!

  3. “pretty much hit over the head.” HA! This is hilarious to me. I used to watch Sunset Beach with Brian every day after class. I can understand.

  4. My mom and grandparents watched GH all the time while I was growing up. I haven’t seen it in years, but I know just what you mean about being able to just pick it up after a period of time!

  5. I’m all about mindless TV at the end of a long day. This is Us is definitely too much for me to handle!! I’m guilty as well!

Leave a comment