On Being Called Out

#SOL21 – Day One

I had a fun conversation with my friend’s niece (whom I shall from this point on call MY niece) tonight at dinner. She is a graduate student for physical therapy but I think that secretly her real passion is painting. She understands left brain creativity.

I was talking about the Slice of Life challenge starting this month and she, Jenny, said, “that sounds horrible!” as I described the commitment our community makes to write every day in March. I continued on, despite the shock on her face at this concept. Well, I said, I might not write every day because it’s already getting late. Plus, I live for comments and the later it gets the less likely it is that people will read my slice. Jenny’s face showed a different kind of shock. “What?? How can you miss the first day???”

Well played Jenny. Well played.

6 thoughts on “On Being Called Out

  1. I struggled with today’s post, too (I just posted mine). Actually, I struggled with deciding to commit and give SOL another try again… I think we say this every year, and every year we find ourselves right back here writing again. Happy Writing!

  2. I totally feel the pressure of getting my Slice written early enough that others read it and comment. Plus I add the stress of making sure I read and comment on others. But I feel like the stress and pressure make it worth it when we hit that ‘publish’ button, lean back, and smile because we sliced another day! Good luck! I look forward to reading your Slices!

  3. This is fantastic! I love that you got called out on not slicing:)
    The title had me hooked before I even started to read it….I am so looking forward to your writing this month!!

  4. Jenny may express her ideas through pictures, while your creativity shines through words. Try your best to write every day because we so enjoy reading your work.

Leave a comment