Bless Her Heart

March #SOLC17 Day 9

sol[1]

My mom.  Bless her heart.  She forgets most of what I tell her very soon after I tell her. The other day I told her I would be out to dinner that evening, but to go ahead and call me like she always does at 8:00 pm before she goes to bed.  The usual routine. Nothing different there!

8:00 pm rolled around.  The phone rang.  I didn’t answer, letting it go to voicemail.  The problem, however, she didn’t leave a message. Wait, what?  She didn’t leave a message? That’s not the routine.

Two minutes later the phone rings again.  I decided I’d better answer this time.

She asked, “Where are you?”

I replied, “At dinner, remember?”

“Oh, that’s right.  I forgot”, she said with worry behind her words.

My mom.  Bless her heart.

When spoke again the next day.

She asked, “Where are you?”

“I’m in Northbrook with Diane, remember?”

“Oh, that’s right.  I forgot,” she said with confusion and sadness.

I hung up the phone filled with concern.  Are things getting worse with her?  Should I not be leaving her alone ever anymore?  She tries so hard to stay up on what my latest schedule is.  She is, after all, turning 86 this month…..

My mom.  Bless her heart.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Bless Her Heart

  1. This brought back memories of my mom. Those reminders are helpful to her when she calls. She is just being a mom and misses you when she doesn’t see you.

  2. Bless her heart, indeed. Reading this makes my heart ache. You are a wonderful, wonderful daughter. Bless your heart.

  3. I wrote a bit about my mom today, too, Carrie. I’ve loved witnessing moments between you and your mom over the years through your words. Your love for her is deep and beautiful. 🙂

Leave a comment