Quicksand, Cousins and The Color of the Sun

March #SOLC17 Day 8

sol[1]

Yesterday I received a gentle reminder about the importance of the work we do.  I sat beside two little boys, about 5 years old, and eavesdropped on their conversation as they made books about themselves in their kindergarten classroom. While they were taking their work very seriously, they were also having an easy-going conversation about…..so many important things.

Matthew:  “I am drawing quicksand.  Do you know what quicksand is?

Anthony:  “Not really.  Do you drown in it?  Does it have water?”

Matthew:  “No it’s not like that.  It just brings you down.”

Anthony:  “I’m drawing a picture of my cousins.”

Matthew:  “Where are you?”

Anthony:  “I’m over here, you can’t see me.”

Matthew:  “I’m drawing the sun.”

Anthony:  “You can’t make the sun that color!  It’s supposed to be yellow!”

Matthew:  “We can make our pictures any color we want!”

Anthony:  “OK.”

All night last night I couldn’t get this sweet conversation out of my head.  These young boys may or may not be friends in the neighborhood, but in school, they clearly have extreme respect for one another.  They listen, they ask questions and they learn from their interaction.

It gave me hope for our future.

7 thoughts on “Quicksand, Cousins and The Color of the Sun

  1. Sometimes we move too fast that we don’t pause to listen to these tiny conversations. They are listening and talking TO each other, not AT each other. Perhaps there is indeed hope.

  2. It is amazing how much we can learn by just observing the conversations of 5-year old children. I love their exchange: Anthony: “You can’t make the sun that color! It’s supposed to be yellow!”
    Matthew: “We can make our pictures any color we want!” You tell him, Matthew! The world is your oyster!

  3. I love eavesdropping on kid conversations. They are always entertaining and I always learn something important about them, myself, or the world around me. Kid conversations are so valuable.

  4. I must admit, I eavesdrop all the time. The beauty of their pure innocence always makes me smile. There is much to be learned by those who have not lost the purity of youth. Wonderful slice of happiness here.

  5. Children teach us so much, if we just take the time to listen. They are full of surprises and their size does not diminish the importance of their work.

Leave a Reply

