He Walks

March #SOLC17 Day 10

sol[1]

His gray beard reaches just below his chin.

In the winter he is bundled up so tightly that those short, wiry gray hairs are all that identify him.

He has a cane – or is it a walking stick?  Probably a walking stick because he seems quite able and does not look like someone in need of a cane.

He travels all around the neighborhood.  East to West on 147th Street.  North to South on Pulaski Road.  Sometimes he has bags with him as if he’d just been to the grocery store. Other times it’s just the man and his cane.  No matter the weather, no matter the day of the week or time of day.  He walks.

As I drive down the street in our district community I often wonder about him.  Once I saw him walking across our parking lot as I was getting in my car.  I stopped and rolled my window down.

Hello, Sir!  Beautiful day, huh? 

He smiled.

I just want to say, you get around this town more than anyone I know.  I see you everywhere! That’s all.  I guess I  just wanted to say I noticed, and that I am very impressed!  Have a great day!

He smiled.

I drove off thinking….This mysterious man who travels the neighborhood by foot.  He’s a man of few words.  Maybe he just wants to be left alone.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “He Walks

  1. I had such a vivid image of this man lumbering down the street. It reminded me of a woman that I used to see walking along the same street in Chicago carrying a purse and trying to fit in with the crowds of pedestrians. She walked back and forth within a few blocks, stopping at the garbage cans along the way. One day, I just stopped seeing her.

  2. I don’t know if I’ve ever seen this man. Well, I probably have seen him but I’ve never NOTICED him. Of course you did. And of course you rolled down your window and said something.

    We’ve been teaching some of our students to sketchnote, so I’m hyper aware of words that create images in my mind. For this piece it was this line: In the winter he is bundled up so tightly that those short, wiry gray hairs are all that identify him. I really had to fight the urge to doodle a quick picture of him!

  3. There is something about this piece that stirs me deeply. You’ve filled it with exquisite imagery making me long to know more about this mysterious man. I think your ending was perfect!!! “Maybe he just wants to be left alone.”

  4. This is the perfect example of noticing. Those short, wiry gray hairs hit me hard. Those few lines at the beginning encapsulate what you’ve noticed about him so nicely. You’ve made me want to sit and notice more around me.

Leave a Reply

