Not Ready

March #SOL16 Day 8

sol[1]

I recall chatting with a colleague in the hallway back in August on the first day of school. We were talking about our summer, of course, but also our newfound healthy eating habits.  I was feeling pretty good.  I knew I had a ways to go, but all in all I figured I was on the right path.  A quote i shared with her stands out in my mind today…”Summer bodies are made n the Winter.”  I wasn’t worried.  I had NINE months to get ready.

Well, spring is here.  And, I’m not ready.

A summer body I did not make this winter.

Where did I go wrong?

How did I fall off the wagon?

Was it that late night pizza on…..too many evenings to count?

Was it that one piece of chocolate that….turned out to be a handful?

Was it that individual bag of chips that…..multiplied?

Was it the repeated vows made at bed time to wake up and exercise that….turned into an extra 30 minutes of sleep?

Yep.  I believe that’s what did it.

Now, as I start to slowly pull out my packed away clothes that await summers arrival I panic.

I am not ready.

14 thoughts on “Not Ready

  1. I hear you!! I love how you moved through your reflections…each one cracked me up because they resonated so much! My philosophy is small steps, move forward. It is never easy, though! Thank you for sharing this today!

  2. I feel you! I am going to continue to blame it on the baby weight, but I need to get a move on (literally!)….I enjoyed the structure of this one a lot…the questions left me contemplating my own answers.

  3. Carrie, I was JUST thinking about this very thing this morning! My thoughts floated to the lake house and pools and warm weather and…. bathing suits?? I’m not ready either. There is still time!

  4. This is totally me right now too! The weight I’d lost last year has creeped back and now, when it’s time to shed the oversized sweatshirt for flowy dresses, I don’t think I’ll be as thrilled with the look. Time to get back at it!

  5. Ugh…I am not ready either! I enjoyed your descriptions of why this probably happened and heard you taking ownership for not being able to resist temptation. Great reflections. Let’s do this together!

  6. Oh, I’m right there with you! I’m not ready either, and there was a time I truly felt motivated! My mom and I were recently discussing how “not ready” we both are, and she shared a quote with me! I wish I could remember it exactly. It was something like, “Don’t break all the dishes because one is chipped.” I think my mom worded it more eloquently. The idea was, don’t let a bad moment(s) ruin or stop you from reaching your goal. It happened. Oh well. We still have the rest of the day. This is it!

  7. I think that you must have meant that you would be ready for summer 2017! Don’t worry, you have 14 months to get ready!

  8. I have had that feeling every year for the past – oh, probably 20 – but this year has been different. And I am nowhere near “ready” yet, but I am on my way! Hope you can find your groove and get as ready as you can!

Leave a comment