Sunshine Go Away

March #SOLC Day 28

sol[1]

Why does it have to be so bright?

I want to hide my face.

This room I sleep in lets in all the light.

It feels like it’s shining right through to my brain

Pounding, prying, pushing

Why can’t it just rain?

A dastardly cobalt blue sky this hour

Not a single cloud in sight

I awaken and my mood is sour.

I know such beauty should give me a different feeling

Birds singing, children playing, trees budding

But all I can do is stare at the ceiling.

And so I turn to my other side, to rest in another pose

Hoping for sleep to return

I find that it’s not quite as unbearable

when my eyes are closed!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Sunshine Go Away

  1. I giggled when I read your slice! This morning, while I was eating breakfast, I complained that the sun was shining in my eyes and it was giving me a headache. My husband looked at me and said, “Are you kidding? You’ve been waiting for spring for the past six months.” I guess that put it into perspective for me. Hope you got that extra sleep this morning!

  2. Finally! I can save this and remind you of that time when you said you didn’t like sunlight so much. 🙂 I agree with you (of course I would) that there is nothing quite like the annoyance of the sun piercing your eyes.

  3. Ha ha ha, I love this! I love the topic, the rhyming, the ending line. Hilarious. How’d you write this? I’m so curious about your process. Like, how’d you come up with the rhymes? And when did you think of the ending, before you started writing or after? We need to “workshop” this poem. 🙂

    1. Hey, thanks! I really don’t know how I wrote it. I didn’t even know I was going to rhyme until it fell into place the first time. Then I knew I wanted to keep doing it. I also had no idea how it was going to end. Let’s “workshop” it!

  4. That sounds fun. I often don’t plan poetry and rhymes either. It just… flows. I love this slice. I was feeling the same way this morning, sitting at my table with my tea in hand. I closed the curtains. And while driving to the store. My sunglasses were of minimal help. The sun today was “warm and cozy” according to my daughter. It was. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your day!!

Leave a comment