Taking Time for Gratitude

March #SOLC Day 27

sol[1]

I have a morning routine on work days.  It’s the same each and every day, as long as I’m at home.

After my shower, with my robe still on, I always shuffle into the kitchen, open the cabinet, grab a bowl and pull my cereal off the shelf.  I could probably do this in my sleep.

But today…..was different.  As I was reaching for the Special K a weird feeling came over me.  I froze in mid-reach at the second shelf.    This strong wave of emotion came over me.  Because I usually perform this morning ritual so mindlessly I guess I was a little shocked to actually stop and feel something right smack dab in the middle of my breakfast routine.

So, I stopped and considered what was happening.  Here it is.  Lately I feel like I’ve been hearing so much bad news and I think it all hit me at once.  Bad news is happening close to home and not so close to home.  We’ve all heard about the air plane that crashed into the French Alps.  The co-pilot decided, for whatever reason, to drive the plane right into the side of a mountain.  It’s hard to fathom.  All those innocent people terrified as they watched and felt themselves plunging to their horrible death.  It’s just so heartbreaking.

Closer to home I’ve been hearing, almost daily this week about people I know who are ill.  Cancer seems to be the most prevalent of the evils.  But, there are others who have lived very full lives and are preparing to leave this world.  No matter the reason, it’s all very sad.

So, I thought to myself, as I was following such a boring, commonplace routine this morning, how lucky I was.  I also considered how difficult life is right now for so many people.  I think that’s what stopped me cold in my tracks.  The mixed emotions of sadness and gratitude.  It didn’t feel right.  It certainly has never entered into my morning breakfast routine before.

 

6 thoughts on “Taking Time for Gratitude

  1. Powerful piece. You’re right it, it can be depressing and overwhelming. I try to do a gratitude journal regularily to remind myself how great I have it, even on what I think is a really bad day.

  2. Sometimes we get so wrapped up in what seems wrong that we forget to see ALL that is right. You put into words things so many people are feeling.

  3. This is such a true feeling. You explained it so well that I knew exactly what you meant. Strange how such a strong feeling can stop you right in your tracks during your every day routine.

  4. Thank you for this- So often we get tied up in the “bad” happening all around us that we forget to appreciate the good. Great slice and great moment too!

  5. Thanks for sharing this slice. It’s amazing how all of the bad news can weigh us down; in light of all of the problems in the world, we can pause and be grateful for the blessings we do have!

Leave a Reply

