Your Scars

March #SOLC Day 10

sol[1]

Your scars

You are not ashamed, yet you ask, “Do they show when I wear this shirt?”

Your scars

You never forget they are there, yet the feeling around them is numb.

Your scars

Remind us of what you’ve been through, yet you don’t live your life scarred.

Your scars

Do not define you, yet they have shaped you.

Your scars

No one can possibly understand the road you traveled to arrive here, yet they tell a small part of your story

Your scars

Skin and tissue that has healed, yet never completely gone.

Your scars

A physical reminder of how life has changed, yet also leaving behind a far more important reminder of the life ahead that is yet to be lived.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Your Scars

  1. This is a great piece Carrie! It makes me think of both physical and emotional scars. I love the last line, “A physical reminder of how life has changed, yet also leaving behind a far more important reminder of the life ahead that is yet to lived.” Love this!

  2. This piece hits a place in my heart. I have seen these scars in my family. I have seen them in others…The Woman with a Hat. I agree, whether external or internal, scars may be a marking of what has happened to a person “shaped you”, but does not define a person. Touching and beautifully written.

  3. Love the flow of your poem and the repetition of those words- YOUR SCARS. This poem reminds me of a boy I once knew. He suffered 3rd degree burns on his upper torso and face, the result of a house fire in which his sister died. He got the burns attempting to pull her out. I haven’t thought of him in a long time. He had the biggest heart and biggest smile of anyone I ever knew….despite his scars. Thank you for the reminder.

  4. Love it! I just saw something yesterday it said “Never be ashamed of a scar. It simply means you were stronger than whatever tried to hurt you”. So true!

Leave a comment