She Reaches Out

March #SOL17 Day 3

sol[1]

Her breathing is labored.

I hear crackling.  Fluid on her lungs?

She reaches her hand out to touch mine.

“Are you still there?”  she asks.

“Yes,” I whisper.  My hand has been on her shoulder for the last 10 minutes.  Reassurance is what she needs right now.

Her hand is cold.  I know her feet must be cold, too.

I wonder, will she come back from this?  She is so weak.  What will tomorrow bring?  What will next week, next month and next year bring?

It’s getting darker.  It’s starting to snow outside.  The room is so still.  I think her breathing is getting deeper, less shallow.  I quietly slip off the bed where I was laying next to her.

She’s asleep.

Tomorrow is another day.

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “She Reaches Out

  1. This post brought tears to my eyes. I’ve shared these same exact feelings while sitting at the bedside of sick loved ones. “What will tomorrow bring?” Hope? Loss? Tomorrow IS another day…

  2. This hits so hard. The day to day, minute to minute, second to second ticking of the clock, trying to get through each day. My heart breaks for you. May you find strength in the people around you and through your love for her. And hers for you.

  3. You know I can feel every word. My heart hurts deeply for you, and while I can’t do anything ease the pain, know that I understand and care deeply. What a beautiful soul you are.

  4. Those moments are both so difficult and so precious. It is a kind of bearing witness. Your words brought me back to another scene of witness not so long ago.

  5. So still, so calm, so serious, so much told in so few words. I feel your helplessness, but feel the comfort in her heart from your words. Keep touching and being there!

  6. Beautifully, and I’m sure somewhat painfully written. You certainly put your reader in your shoes. All the best to you and your loved ones.

Leave a comment