The Racetrack Kids

March #SOL17 Day 2

sol[1]

Her:  “Yeah, we call them Racetrack Kids.”

Me:  “Huh?  You call them what?”

Her:  “Racetrack Kids.  They are displaced kids who live above the stables at the local racetrack.”

Silence.

Anger.

Disbelief.

Tears.

Me:  “What will happen to him?  He is 13 years old and has no one.  His mother was never prepared to take him in.  His father refused to take him in.  His grandparents live 2,000 miles away.  How will he survive?”

Her:  “We are going to do whatever it takes to make sure this child stays in our school district – with the only support system he knows.  My Assistant Superintendent said we will transport him by cab from as far as 3 hours away if we have to.  We are visiting him daily bringing him clothes and reminding him that we love him.

Silence.

Grateful.

Appreciation.

Tears.

Us:  “We will not give up.  This kid is worth it.  Let’s do this.”

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “The Racetrack Kids

  1. Kids are at the mercy of adults. How sad. How frightening. Whatever happens, he knows someone loves him. He knows that you love him.

  2. I agree with what aggiekesler said above – you really do have such a heart for kids. I think that may be a rare thing today for people in your position of overseeing curriculum implementation. I know you will never lose that.

    The way you wrote this heartbreaking piece is perfect. We just get a glimpse into this conversation. Just a glimpse, but it says so much. I hope this poor sweet soul knows how much he is loved. 🙂

  3. Carrie, your writing form is perfect for this piece. In it, I felt the beat of your heart breaking; the beat of mine breaking as I read. So thankful to know that someone is fighting for him, giving him a saving chance.

  4. After a week where I thought the stupid system might break my spirit, I had a similar moment. I love how you wrote this. You captured perfectly the realities of dealing with kiddos whose home(or lack there of) lives are harder than we can imagine. Keep fighting the good fight.

  5. I notice that you used short sentences to vary sentence lengths and convey emotion in a very clear way. Minimalist is the word that comes to mind, yet that’s what makes it powerful. When I was in University a professor encourages us to question what was going between the stanzas of a poem. She said those spaces were there for a reason as much as the words were. I find myself wondering what was happening in the spaces between your single “emotion” words. Wondering means that we’ve been provoked. Good art provokes the viewer–you’ve proved thought in me–a hallmark of powerful work. Thanks for posting.

  6. You have captured so much in this brief exchange of words. I have re-read this over and over thinking…this can’t be real. It is. Then I get to one of your last lines and it brings me to your heart, your core… “This kid is worth it.” And all I can think of is thank you.

  7. He is always on my mind and obviously on the mind of many. Thanks for keeping in the forefront. Your disappointment, worry, anger, and care comes through clearly. Keep fighting the fight!

  8. I have come back to this post often as this slice is just heartbreaking. Your true care and love for all children, especially these tangled ones, is evident and this child knows that you are a part of his team forever.

Leave a Reply

