A Missed Door and a Rough Day

#SOL18 Day Twenty-Two

slice-of-life_individual

Bam!

Splat!

Oh man!

I turned to look at the door.  A young lady, around 20, was moving quickly toward the door with coffee splattered on her face, dribbling down her cheeks.

“That’s just the kind of day I’m having!” she whimpered as she quickly disappeared through the actual door.

“Carrie!  Your drink is ready!”

I picked up my drink and turned to leave.

There I saw it.  What was left of the 20-year-old’s debacle.    The window next to the door of the Starbucks was covered.  Coffee was slowly sliding down the glass, hanging on for dear life, probably not to be washed off anytime soon.

She was gone in such a hurry.  Understandably.  I wished, though, that I could have told her that it was OK.  Sometimes the window next to the door looks like the actual door.  We’ve all done it.  I know it’s embarrassing.  I really hope you have a better day.

 

11 thoughts on “A Missed Door and a Rough Day

  1. Aww! I hope her day gets better, that’s a rough start to any day. I always get tricked with doors and which way to push, pull, or enter. It gets confusing!

  2. I’ve just picked up Amy Krouse Rosenthal’s “Textbook” and this seems like something that I could find in there – a wish and compassion for a stranger whose experience is universal. Well, little does she know, but now she’s getting positive thoughts from all over the place!

  3. You have a wonderful heart, Carrie, and this one of those pieces of writing that say so much with so few words. Bam! You nailed it!

Leave a comment