Living on the Edge

#SOL18 Day Twenty

slice-of-life_individual

She had been up for hours, but she had to wait and wonder.  Should she just go to work, or should she try again?  Her text from the night before, “since Lorrie is home early, I can take you home in the morning,” went unanswered.

That’s odd, she thought.  Oh well, she always looks at her phone early, practically before the sun comes up.  She went to sleep feeling confident that she’d hear back in the morning.

5:30 A.M.  She unplugged her phone and was dismayed to see there was still no response.

She texted again.

Crickets.

“Hello????” she clicked away at the tiny letters on her phone, this time agitated.

I don’t have all morning to wait, she knows I have to go to work.  I would think not having to take the train home would be so appealing that she would respond immediately!  Oh jeez.  I hope nothing is wrong down there.  This weekend went so well.  Almost 100% perfect.  Here we go.  Something is wrong…She began to work herself into a tizzy.

Six minutes later a ding came from her phone.

“Yes, yes!!”

A response full of excitement, tempered with a touch of concern that she had perhaps missed her opportunity for a ride from her wonderful and thoughtful sister.

Thank God, no crisis.  This time…

She gathered up her things for work and headed down the hall.

 

2 thoughts on “Living on the Edge

  1. I feel as if this is something I would write. I understand living on the edge, as well as the thoughts and emotions that run through our minds when we are anticipating a response. I just when a situation resolves itself in a positive way, at least for the moment. This was a great, thought provoking slice.

  2. Oh my.. your title just grabbed me as I am scrolling through my reader. Your topic seems like such a simple event, but the underlying tones are definitely living on the edge. Each turn of the road brings new things. I just keep relating every line back to your title.

Leave a comment