Pizza and Memory Making

#SOL18 Day Five

slice-of-life_individualLast week we ate at a restaurant that is on our top ten list. The food is very tasty, but that’s not why it’s a favorite. No. The reason we love this place is because of the people who work there and, once again, they lived up to our expectations.

From our table in the corner, I watched as a family of four, two kids and two parents, walked in and sat down.

“Hurry and go wash your hands,” the mom said in the direction of her daughter.

“Already?” The young, dark-haired girl appeared to wonder why immediate hygiene was so urgent.  She dutifully headed to the bathroom as instructed.

The young girl quietly returned with glistening hands (I’m assuming) to her family, each with their heads buried in their menus.  So, not a single one of them noticed when she meandered a couple of feet from the family’s table over to the wood-burning oven.  The only thing separating the child and the chef was a thin window of plexiglass. She couldn’t see over it, so instead, she peered through as the chef twirled and tossed the dough high in the air.

At first, I thought the chef was simply showing off for her, which would have been OK.  She enjoyed it.  Her gaze was fixed on his every move.  But, when she continued to linger, the chef acknowledged her.  He just seemed so in-tune to this little girl.  He invited her to move closer.  I then continued talking with my friends at our table.

The next time I looked over in the direction of the wood-burning stove, this is what I saw…..the little dark-haired girl twirling her own sliver of dough high up in the air with a smile as large as the disc she was rolling with flour.

I was so proud to be there at our (now) favorite restaurant at that moment.  I was watching from afar, but I felt like I was sitting right beside the chef and his protege as they were making pizza and making memories.

It’s a good thing the little dark-haired girl had her memories because the pizza she made was eaten by her family.

 

5 thoughts on “Pizza and Memory Making

  1. I love how you built this slice, leaving me as the reader wondering if the dark haired girl would get into some kind of trouble as her parents seemed oblivious to her presence. I felt like I was right inside the restaurant with you and this curious child. How delightful that there are professionals out there who are willing to build people, especially kids, up. What a special exchange to witness! Thanks for filling my heart with hope this morning!

  2. What a treat to read this episode! I can only echo much of what Mrs Palmer says above. You absolutely brought me into the scene, up close and it totally sparked my curiosity about how the family responded if and when they caught on. Thanks for sharing!

  3. I was immediately concerned she was going to get burnt. But my fears were calmed as you continued. Wonderful. Makes me remind myself to pause and view the world through a child’s eye (or a writers eye). There’s so much magic and beauty that is missed when we rush.

Leave a comment