A Difficult Life on Hold

#SOL18 Day Three

slice-of-life_individual

I finally saw Hamilton last night.  I might be the last human being on Earth to see this play.

I think it lived up to all the hype.  Great singing, great dancing, great message.  But that’s not why I loved it.

This evening out was special for a different reason.

Last night was a belated gift. Not for Christmas or a birthday, but, rather, a gift of respite.  Not simply a gift from a friend who knew how badly I’ve been wanting to see this show – although that would have been more than enough.  This was a gift from a friend who knew how badly I needed to go.  It was bigger than a night out at a play that I’ve been wanting to see for many years.

You see, my life has been somewhat difficult lately. So difficult that it’s been absolutely impossible to make any plans.  My life has been day by day, hour by hour, minute by minute.  Basically, anything that would require the purchase of tickets has been on hold for fear that the ticketed day would arrive and this difficult life of mine would get in the way.

Luckily I have a friend who is so special that she knows just when the time is right.

To put a difficult life on hold.

 

 

10 thoughts on “A Difficult Life on Hold

  1. I am glad you were given the gift of respite. We certainly all need that from time to time! It’s also important to have true friends who know exactly what you need at exactly the right time.

  2. I don’t know your situation. I don’t know your difficulty. What I do know is that this slice found me praying for you and for a special friend of my own who is experiencing a difficult life. She lives half way around the country from me. You blessed with a dear friend, indeed.

  3. I can understand when we let life’s difficulty consume our entire being. Our circle of friends is very important and I am so glad your friend is so in tune to your needs that s/he knew what to do in such a beautiful way. I hope your difficult days lessen and turn out to be great days.

  4. What a sweet friend! That was so kind and thoughtful! I”m glad you enjoyed! And I can assure you you are NOT the last one to see Hamilton…I haven’t yet! Sigh! Maybe one of these days!

  5. Carrie… How lucky you are to have friends who know when you need the gift of time. I’m thankful you had the opportunity for self care… something that too many of us push to the side when we are needed by others.

Leave a comment