Habit, Broken

March #SOLC17 Day 23

sol[1]I used to bite my nails.  I don’t know where the habit came from, but it has stuck with me ever since I was about 6 years old.  I can remember my friend’s mom telling me to stop. It seemed to bother her quite a bit.  More than a few people had suggestions that were “sure-fire” ways to get me to kick my bad habit.

Put that yucky tasting stuff on your fingers.  You’ll never bite your nails again!

Cover your fingers with band-aids.  If you can’t get at them, you won’t bite them!

Wear gloves!  (Following the same premise as the band-aids)

None of these remedies worked.  I continued to bite and pick my nails down to the nub.  I wanted to get the monkey off my back, but I didn’t believe I had the self-control.  I tried to identify the times that I was most likely to nibble on my digits.  In front of the TV was most common.  Recognizing the time of day for my dreadful habit didn’t change a thing.  I was simply more aware of my gnawing during my favorite TV shows, that’s all.

As I grew older I found myself in more professional settings and my desecrated nail beds made me feel quite embarrassed.  I felt like a child in an adult role.  I hid my hands every chance I got.  I went through my 20’s, 30’s, and 40’s like this.  Not believing in myself.

Until last summer.  I woke up one warm August morning and said to myself, this is the day I stop biting my nails.  I am 54 years old and this must stop.

And, I did.

Habit, broken.

7 thoughts on “Habit, Broken

  1. Before reading I wondered what habit it might be. This didn’t cross my mind. I am glad you were able to quit the habit with one strong thought.

  2. My son bites his nails and we have tried all the things you tried… I am to know he might just decide to stop one day. In the meantime, he gets sick all the time because his fingers are in his mouth. I send him to school with tons of gum and that helps a bit. Habits are sure hard to break — that for giving me hope.
    Clare

Leave a Reply

