It’s All About the Bach

March #SOLC17 Day 22

sol[1]There I was driving along switching radio channels – toggling between CNN, the top hits of the 60’s, Deep Tracks and back to CNN again, when I rediscovered the channel in the middle.  The station I have programmed literally in between Al Green and the Beatles.

This channel streams beautiful music from the likes of Beethoven, Mozart, Tchaikovsky and……Johann Sebastian Bach.  The music of J.S. Bach soothes me.  It is the perfect antidote to a long stressful day – and to CNN.   Last night in the car I let it quietly emanate from the speakers.  It transported me – I imagined myself in orchestra hall watching the Maestro conducting each and every instrument leading to the most exquisite sound.  I imagined this short, stout man at the helm, wherever that may have been.   I’ve heard that he often conducted from various positions within the ensemble.  His gray wig bobbing. Letting the sounds move through his body.

Thank you, Mr. Bach.  Happy Birthday!

 

 

3 thoughts on “It’s All About the Bach

  1. Music is a wonderful transport device. It can immediately take me back to college, my early days of marriage, marching band, or even being a 12 year old listening to Karen Carpenter or Bridge Over Troubled Water! Lately, in the car, I have been listening to classical and jazz on NPR. Nice post!

Leave a Reply

