We Walked and We Stayed

March #SOLC17 Day 5

sol[1]

We walked to the nursing home.

We walked together in one long line from the school to “The Pointe.”

We walked in and around and in the puddles.

We walked and then we stopped walking when we saw worms.

We walked and we were blown away by the cold winds.

We walked and we laughed as the cold winds blew.

We walked and we finally made it inside to the warmth.

We walked and we were greeted by smiling faces in their wheelchairs and holding on to their walkers.

We stayed and we were told how glad they were that they got out of bed on this day.

We stayed and we heard how special we were and how nice it was that we came.

We stayed and we exercised together.

We stayed and we read our exercising brochures to our new senior friends.

We stayed and then we walked back to school with our hearts a little more full.

We walked back to school retelling stories of the lady with the cane and the man who didn’t talk and how their faces changed when we appeared.

We walked back to school arm in arm with our classmates feeling good about what we had done.

We walked back to school and then we stopped walking when we found more worms.

 

20170301_101845

11 thoughts on “We Walked and We Stayed

  1. The puddles and worms bring vivid visuals, but it is this line that struck me the most, “We stayed and we were told how glad they were that they got out of bed on this day.” There are days that they either don’t get out of bed or aren’t glad about it. Sigh.

  2. The references to “puddles” and “worms” reminds me of walks I used to do with my two older sons when they were toddlers, and I was a stay-at-home dad. After rainy days, we’d get dressed up into rain boots (even me) and go “puddle stomping” around the neighborhood. Lovely memory. Thank you.
    Kevin

  3. What a lovely way to express the joy of the elderly and little ones meeting up! You made me think of my mother and father when they were in there last days. My mother would have so enjoyed this visit. Thank you for writing the experience as a poem. It created the song that created the emotion in the reader! Thank you for a Sunday morning gift!
    Mary

  4. Wow. I just love this poem. It gave me such a warm feeling when reading it. The part where they were glad they got out of bed that day pulled at my heart strings. How amazing that you and your kiddies were able to visit the nursing home and brighten their day. Thank you for sharing this. Reading this poem made my Sunday coffee taste even better 🙂

  5. I remember doing this with CP kids!!! What a wonderful feeling this is, and what a wonderful slice to share with the world.

  6. As I sat in my office with a student, I could hear kids talking and laughter. I turned to look out my window and saw all of you walking. What a great experience for each one of the kids and adults, and to see the impact they made to the residents at the nursing home. Your picture completes the visual your words gave, thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

