Your Mood

SOL#16 Tuesday

sol[1]

I’ve always been this way.  You’re in a bad mood, I’m in a bad mood.  Your brooding, weepy mood is now mine.  Thanks so much.

You’re having a rough morning?  Crabby?  Sulking?  Me too.

It only happens with the down-in-the-dumps mood.  I’m generally a happy person, so your joyful mood has no effect on me.  I’m already there.

This reaction to the negativity you emit, it runs deep.  I’ve tried to take control, be intentional and own my state of mind rather than taking on yours.

To no avail.   I just absorb it and wear it like a blanket.  It envelopes me.  A cloud over my head.

I continue to work at keeping your mood at bay.  I surround myself with those who have a positive outlook.  They refuel me.

I also continue to remind myself that I can do this all on my own.  The strength I have inside is enough.

This is it.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Your Mood

  1. Woah, that ending line is powerful. It’s like you put your foot down.

    I don’t think I ever knew this about you, actually. I hope you can truly find a way to stop internalizing other people’s moods. Lord knows there are enough crabby people in the world – we need more positive people!

  2. My husband and I just had this conversation. I asked him why he was so crabby and he said it was because my crabby was making him crabby!!

  3. I agree with Dana – the ending is so powerful. Like – The End — It . Is. Over. Kill em with kindness – a saying I repeat often. It does really work!!! Hang in there — and keep smiling.
    Clare

  4. Negativity is both easy and poisonous. This line stood out: “I just absorb it and wear it like a blanket.” I hope you are successful at surrounding yourself with positivity!!

Leave a Reply

