On Being Me

March #SOL16 Day 15

sol[1]

All during the week it is tame.  In place.  Suitable for public viewing.

On the weekend it is wild.  Undisciplined.  Free.  Suitable for home and possibly running errands.

I prefer the wild side.  It’s easier. Effortless.

Some might say disheveled.  I say unaffected.  It’s who I am.

Wake up, shower, shampoo, toss it around and I’m good to go.

When I was in high school it was like I literally woke up one day and it was everywhere. Wild.  They say it was hormones at work.  I didn’t have a clue what to do and my older sister was of no help whatsoever.  Aren’t older sisters supposed to know how to conquer such things?  Why didn’t she help me??

I saw a teacher in the school office the other day.  Hers is usually quite tame, but not on this day!  I complimented her.  Mostly for letting go of whatever compels us to tame and keep everything in place.  But, also because it was beautiful.

I am slowly coming around.  I guess you’re never too old to finally be good with who you are.  My hair is part of me.  And, I’m finally embracing that (and buying the right product and getting the right hair cut!!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “On Being Me

  1. “My hair is part of me. And, I’m finally embracing that” Now that’s what I’m talking about!! I identify….(not just with hair)….and love this!!

  2. This made me laugh out loud! Everything about it made me think of my own hair and how I tend to do it for work and leave it be on the weekends…thanks for the great slice!

  3. My undone hair is limp -nothing wild about it! Love that yours shows personality and how you are embracing it. One of my students took her braids out this week and let her wild curls fly, they were beautiful. I imagine you like she was, a little unsure then owning it as the day went on.

  4. The hair struggle is real! My hair is so big and curly when allowed to be “wild.” Constantly straightening my mane can be such a cumbersome task…I can totally relate to just wanting to let it go and be free.

Leave a Reply

