Obsessed

March #SOL16 Day Three

sol[1]

Have you heard of the Podcast; “Serial?”

I ask everyone in my life this question.

I am what you might call obsessed.

The first thing I do when I get into the car in the morning and then again in the afternoon is grab my phone, find the NPR app, ready my radio system to the Podcast setting, Que up the next episode and hit play.

Sarah Koenig, the host of the show, feels like a friend.  I enjoy driving to and from work with her comfy voice booming from my car speakers.  It’s like she’s sitting next to me, just having this conversation about Adnad or Beau.

Sarah delivers facts that are couched within a story.  The story part could be considered her opinion, which I guess it might be at times, but I’m OK with that.  I can make up my own mind, it’s not like I’m overly influenced by her.  I can clearly feel that she is struggling with which side of the story to take, as do I.  I appreciate that we are struggling together.

I’ve learned something about myself as I listen to the narrative that shapes these larger than life characters.  I am a person who believes there are always two sides to a story. Situations are rarely as black and white as some believe.  My “taking into account both sides” belief becomes even stronger when a particular story has hit the media and large masses jump to conclusions ultimately trying and convicting a person or group of people based on the very few “facts” they know.  For instance, when a U.S. Soldier walks off base in Afghanistan and ends up captured by the other side I want to know more.  I want to hear from this soldier.  I want to know what he has to say, not what others have to say about him.  Or, what about the 17 year old Muslim boy who was convicted in Maryland of murdering his ex-girlfriend?  I can entertain the notion that the state may not have had enough evidence to convict.  I want to hear and weigh the facts for myself. These stories make me wonder.  Why are some individuals so quick to condemn others?

As I near the end of last year’s season I am anxiously awaiting the latest update on this year’s story.  I know that I have to prepare myself for the end of my time with Sarah  on my drives to and from work.  Maybe it’s time to go back to listening to music in the car. Music can definitely be more soothing and less combative. However, not quite as intellectually stimulating.

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Obsessed

  1. It’s a strong message that can make us forgo our morning caffeine! You write about such a beautiful routine you have – listening to NPR podcasts. I love especially that you could identify with the ways it helped you make a realization about yourself, “I want to know more”.

  2. After reading, I found myself questioning, do I jump to conclusions to quickly? Do I listen to both sides? Today, I will take a step back and not jump to a conclusion with only hearing one side. Thank you for that!
    I love that you get lost in your Podcast on your way to work, but turn around and go get your coffee! lol

  3. Oh that’s so crazy when that happens! When you are so involved in something that you are listening to that you just somehow arrive at where you are going. Also, loving that feeling that you are loving something so much that you would rather do that than listen to music or something else.

  4. I am going to have to check out this podcast. I feel like I’ve heard about it from a few people now. If it can make me forget about my coffee stop then that is a truly powerful force! You talked about nearing the end of the season – that is so stinky! I get a pit in my stomach when I’m coming to the end of a good book or a TV show series that I’m invested in. It’s like saying goodbye to a friend.

  5. Ok, I need to listen to Serial! I’ve been into Invisibilia, have you listened to any of those? But a friend just mentioned Serial, too, so it’s time I check it out, apparently!

  6. Oooh, I LOVED Season #1 of Serial. I listened to the whole thing in like 3 days because I couldn’t get enough. So, so good. DO YOU THINK HE DID IT???

    Season 2, not so much. I couldn’t get past the first episode.

    That being said, you’re a perfect candidate for a good audiobook next!

    1. I am just not sure if he did it, or not, Dana! What I think I know for sure is that he did not get a fair trial. Season 2 is great. Maybe because I listen in the car I’m able to tune out what seems overwhelming and taxing. Ya know?

  7. Serial is amazing. I think every single person in the world needs to listen to season 1. Wasn’t it like, WHAT??? I blogged on it too last summer and was nervous Season 2 wouldn’t be as gripping. It’s different. I like it okay, but I found I love Sarah’s storytelling so much and wish I could emulate her cool in conversations and info gathering. I was super pumped when they interrupted this season for the hearing of Adnan. I’m desperate for updates on that front.

Leave a Reply

