I’ll See You Guys on Monday!

March #SOLC15 Day 14

sol[1]“When men and women join the armed forces they are in effect writing a blank check for the amount up to and sometimes including their life.”  Wow, I never thought about it quite like that before.

“I just want to help in any way I can.”  I hope I don’t look uninterested, but I have to capture the words in my “Writer” app before I forget them.

“So, I called up my friends who play and asked if they’d join me.  They said yes immediately and refused to be paid even a cent.”  Such wonderful and talented friends.

“I’m not that great of a player.  In fact, I’ve had this thing, was in the hospital and haven’t played my horn in 6 weeks.  Thank God I have my buddies to carry the brass section.”  Amazing.  So humble.  Never putting himself in the spotlight.  No solos for this guy tonight!  What a great role model he is for his students, both as a musician and as a man.

“My family is telling me to pass around a hat for donations.  I really didn’t want to do it, it feels weird.  So, please don’t feel badly if you want to give the hat to the next guy.  But, I know you trust me and you know that every dime will go to this fundraiser if you decide to put anything in the hat.”  This room is packedHe’ll easily make hundreds of dollars.  He has a loyal following.

“I would like to invite my Superintendent up to read something he wrote – to kind of get us in the frame of mind for our first set.”  I wonder if he’s nervous.  I wonder if he’s reading the same letter that opened up the fundraiser last year.  I wonder if he’ll get emotional.

“Thank you so much to all the kids who came out tonight.  It was great to see current students as well as graduates.  Mrs. Whitaker did double duty tonight as a back up singer and as the student choir conductor and she was fantastic!  They sounded like angels.

“I have a long list of people to thank.  Please indulge me.”  This is one of the best parts of the night.  So heartfelt.

“Dr. Hewitt and Dr. Horvath.  Thank you for always supporting me.  Dr. Hewitt, that letter.  Wow.  I didn’t know.  I just didn’t know, man.”  That’s what I was thinking.  What an incredible letter about his own father who served in the military.  I know he died a short time ago, it must have been hard to stand up in front of all these people reading such personal things.  Or, maybe it was cathartic.

“Can we take a picture, all of us together?  Thanks SO much for being here guys.  It means so much to me that you came and you stayed.”  Smiles.  Laughter.  Hugs.

“See you guys on Monday!  These people really care about one another.  Their week runs right into the weekend and back into the week again. 

Walking a bit lighter as we head to the car.  It was a great night.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “I’ll See You Guys on Monday!

  1. This post fits you so well. You’re one of the most observant people I know. This shows how you are always looking at the world around you, and in this case, listening to the world around you. It sounds like a wonderful event!

Leave a Reply

