The Monkey on my Back

sol[1]

March SOL Challenge #18

Yes, it’s true.  I am addicted to the stuff.  Since I was 8 or 9 years old.  I started younger than most.

It seemed like the more I used the more I needed.  That’s when I knew I had a problem.

As a kid I always kept it in my pocket.  If I didn’t I was in big trouble.  I actually got nervous if I didn’t have it with me.  People could see it all over my face.

As an adult I keep some in all the important places…..very close at hand.

In my desk drawer.

I’ve taken to just leaving it next to my papers and my calendar when I’m in meetings now.  I’m not ashamed.

In my car.  There are usually 2 or 3 rolling around somewhere in there.

By my bed.  I might need some in the middle of the night.

In my purse. I need it in the store.  At a concert.  Especially at a concert!

On the table by my couch.  I don’t even have to get up for some – it’s right there for me.

In my kitchen drawer.  Conveniently I don’t have to go to the bedroom or living room.

No one in the house can touch it or use it.  It’s an unspoken rule.  I wouldn’t use theirs either.  We have a mutual respect.

It’s in a small but potent package.

I usually go through 20-25 per year.  But, it’s OK because they only cost about $1.00 per.  Luckily my distributor is easily accessible.  Usually right around the corner.

As a kid the winter was my worst time.  But, now I need it all the time.  Summer can almost be worse.

Good or bad I’m addicted to the waxy substance in that little green tube that they call…..Blistex.   I can’t get this monkey off my back!

15 thoughts on “The Monkey on my Back

  1. I love Blistex also, although definitely not as much as you do. Great job building up to the “stuff.” I was guessing lip gloss or chapstick so I was close.

  2. I was at first guessing gum or lifesavers, wondering how you ate them in bed. Good job keeping the secret to the very end. Love Blistex, too, but I don’t think I have a problem…..

  3. I couldn’t imagine what you were referring to and I refused the urge to scroll down and spoil it. At first I was thinking of gum or pop. Until there was rolling. Great progression through your addiction. I’m sure that there is a support group somewhere…

  4. I love the way you kept it going until the reveal at the end, and how you made it sound naughty, though it wasn’t. I was very tempted to peek ahead, but resisted.

  5. I love the way you waited until the end to reveal your secret addiction. Every description was perfect. I too, have the same addiction… even though it doesn’t have to be Blistex– it just needs to be some sort of chapstick. I feel lost without it.

  6. Nicely done! Fun suspense! This can be a tricky craft to do but to did it really well! I love how your refer to “your distributor”. I have the same obsession with Altoids.

  7. You’re trying to get us to practice our predicting skills, now, aren’t you? I was pretty close, although I was picturing the round tube of Chapstick. I love how well you pulled this off.

  8. I enjoyed trying to guess what it was as I read! Very fun read. I have this addiction too- except mine is Burt’s Bees. I remember doing a 5K several years ago and forgot to put it in my pocket- I thought about it the entire 5K.

Leave a Reply

