Five Minute Friday {See}

I’m participating in Five Minute Friday.  Write off a word for 5 minutes, share, and comment on others.  Join us!

Go.

See. 

I wish I could see better.  As a kid I loved swimming.  I still do, but as I get older I get more and more disgusted with not being able to SEE when I’m in the pool.  I’ve been on a couple of vacations where the opportunity arose to go snorkeling, but I passed on the chance because I wouldn’t be able to see once I was down there in the deep sea.  That makes me sad.  I want to be able to see when I’m in the water.  I want to see when I’m swimming laps.  It’s a terrible feeling to swim back and forth in the water and not have a good sense of when the wall is coming. When I am standing at the edge of the pool, talking with people, looking around, I want to see.  When I am swimming deep in the ocean water, I want to see the fish.  The beauty. I want to see.

I also want to see when I wake up in the morning.  To see the clock.  Immediately.  I want to get up in the middle of the night without fumbling for my glasses.  Knocking the glass of water off the table that sits beside my bed. 

When I fly in an airplane I imagine (every single time) what it would be like if the plane went down.  The first thing I think of is losing my glasses.  I always tell my traveling companion to be aware that this will happen and know that I will not be able to see.  I fear not being able to see in a plane crash more than the actual crash. 

Of course, we all know that we see in tons of different ways.  I think our senses are heightened when one is not as strong.  I have the hearing of a dog.  I could probably hear those crazy whistles that only they are supposed to hear.  I can hear two different things out of each ear.  I can be on the phone and hear a conversation outside of my office – and pretty much be able to concentrate on both.  When I was a social worker one of the parents called me “Radar Ears”.  I guess that says it all.

Stop.

One thought on “Five Minute Friday {See}

  1. Many of us are amazed how you can hear everything! Quite a gift!
    I remember in high school when I finally got glasses, I could see the leaves on the trees. Everything was not one big blur.

Leave a Reply

