OLW ~ Try

SOL Tuesday

Hosted by Two Writing Teachers
Hosted by Two Writing Teachers

I can’t believe how long I’ve been thinking about this.  I’ve talked with friends, colleagues and combinations of the two.  There were many possibilities running through my mind.  I kept feeling that the words I’d come up with were too limiting.  The last thing I wanted to do was limit myself.  2014 will be all about widening my horizons, not narrowing them!

This leads me to an annoying habit I have.  If I get up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom I automatically pick my phone up on the way.  I check all the very important emails that have come in between the hours of 10 p.m. and the wee hours of the morning.  You think I’m kidding?  Vital messages come through during those hours!  Take last night – or early this morning, for instance.  4:30 a.m. illuminated the latest Two Writing Teachers blog from Dana Murphy.  Dana revealed her OLW and the process she went through to decide upon this word.  I was intrigued.  I read it twice.  Then I went back to bed and began to think and dream about what my word would be.  I needed to choose my word and move forward.  To live the word.

I woke up 2 hours later and I had it.  Try.  This word has many pleasant and important memories for me.

First, my favorite childhood book.; I Can’t Said the Ant.  The following line of this book is, “Please try, said the Pie!”  This book was about all the obstacles an ant faced in a kitchen full of dangerous appliances and evil foods.  The Pie was encouraging and managed to help him get from the floor to the counter top where he could be safe.  I smile whenever I think of that book.

Try hard and Be Nice.  These were the “rules” in the first school I worked in.  I was so excited at the simplicity of them.  We were teaching kids the most fundamental skills of life.  Two simple things.  Trying your best, working hard, and being nice.  Be that person and life will be easier for you.  Simple.  Powerful.  I crammed so much learning about how to work with kids and parents and teachers in those (first) five years of my career.

So it is.  Try.  I will try to listen better.  Try to be open to all that is around me.  Try to eat better and exercise like I should.  Try to read and write more often.  Try to help others to try.  Life isn’t about perfection.  To me  -it’s about trying.  One who tries is one who believes they can and doesn’t let all the “yeah, buts” get in the way.   I want to be around people who say, “I’ll try that!”  I want to be that person, as well.   I’ll be the one who tries and I’ll be the one who encourages trying.  Just like the Pie in my favorite childhood story.

 

One thought on “OLW ~ Try

Leave a Reply

