Five Minute Friday {Laundry}

I’m participating in Five Minute Friday.  Write off a word for 5 minutes, share, and comment on others.  Join us!

GO

I absolutely love doing laundry.  I don’t know why.  Maybe it’s because there is a definite beginning and a definite ending.  It’s a job I can start on a Saturday morning and actually finish on Saturday afternoon.  I love looking in my laundry hamper and seeing it EMPTY!  I’ve finished.  That feels good.

I also like it because of how great everything smells when it’s clean.  The whole house smells good.  Clean laundry smell.  It’s the best.

I think I like the folding of laundry, too.  Folding is the same as finishing a project – you fold it and put it away.

Getting that great “laundry finished feeling” is difficult when I’m on vacation.  Once, when I was in Las Vegas, we had a rented car and decided to go to a laundry mat to clean our clothes.  It just wasn’t the same.  Oh sure, we cleaned our clothes.  But we didn’t have our usual detergent, so the great smell just really wasn’t there.  Oh yes, we dried our clothes.  But we couldn’t wait all day for this process to end, so they were still damp when we took them out.  Clothes don’t fold well when they’re damp.  I do have some fond and funny memories of that day in the Las Vegas laundry mat, though.  I think it was called, “Strip and Dry”.  It was about 210 degrees in there (middle of July in Vegas!) and the clientele was a bit different.  We had fun wondering what they were washing and where those clothes had been.

To be continued in another post…..

STOP.

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday {Laundry}

  1. This is great, Carrie! I laughed when I saw the word today because I remember you saying you actually like doing laundry. Weirdo. I love how this word took you back to a fun memory in Vegas. Funny how that happens to us when we write.

Leave a Reply

