Let’s Make a Word List!

carries-camera-810-2.jpg

I’ve had major writers block ever since March ended and we’ve gone to writing once a week.  This has taught me so much about what we could put our students through if we don’t let them write every day!

I still mutter to myself, “I should write about that”  -but then I don’t.  I don’t know why.  Have I been too busy?  Have I been uninspired?  Tired?  I guess it’s been a little bit of everything.  I did have the pleasure of spending time with 2nd graders and their teachers today.  One of the entries they made in their writers notebook was a list of all the words that go with their topic.  I thought that sounded fun – so as I look out my window – here goes…..

Sunset – sun, colors, sky, reflection, fading, clouds, glowing, shining, breathtaking, nighttime, magnificent, twilight, days end, sleep, birds singing, new day,

That wasn’t as easy as it sounds.  I actually enlisted the help of a friend.  I watched as kids were asked to do this today and now I know they should be paired with a buddy to brainstorm words together. It was hard -at first.  Then it got much easier as I was able to talk about it.

I ended my list with a comma so I can add to it…….one day when I’m not so busy!

7 thoughts on “Let’s Make a Word List!

  1. We are in the same boat! I told a story to my class the other day and they told me I should write it down. I didn’t. Lazy? busy? I don’t know. End of the year craziness? I’ll go with that!

  2. I love this idea! My students have been making lists because of ideas they got from some other slices of their classmates. I can totally add to that and teach this kind of list!

  3. This is awesome!

    “I still mutter to myself, “I should write about that” -but then I don’t. I don’t know why” I so feel you on this! I thought it would be great to go to once a week- that my posts would be better though out and such, but I’m finding I’m not able to get down the things I really want to. I also love the list idea- I need to remember it so I can do it some time soon.

  4. How do we “get” the students to write? How do we “get” ourselves to write? Do we nudge? We certainly don’t push! Sometimes it is tiny steps, but they are steps! We are thankful for every step! Thank you for your forthrightness.

Leave a Reply

