In July

SOL #27

Hosted by Two Writing Teachers
Hosted by Two Writing Teachers

nature 101

A poem, inspired by Cynthia Rylant’s In November.

In July , the earth is full of excitement.  The birds are chirping loudly at 4 a.m.  They’ve made their homes and now dutifully tend to their nestling babies.  The trees that were once bare are now a brilliant green, robust with life.  It’s as if they grew full just so they could protect the life inside the tiny shell of straw, sticks and grass.

In July, the air is warm with a south breeze.  The sun lingers a little longer each day and the moon shines brightly over the people as they sit on their porches.  No more hurrying.  Children are out of school.  Let the lazy days of reading, swimming, cooking, and playing commence…outdoors.  Everything leans a little higher – toward the sun, in July.

In July, the night sky is lit by a fireworks display for all.  Music is in the air while friends gather to watch the show.  Red, White and Blue is everywhere.  The smells coming from the grill are new in July.  People attend picnics and eat corn on the cob, watermelon, potato salad, and fried chicken.  They drink beer and wine, too.  No more cooking indoors, in July.

In July, we snuggle under our covers at night.  The window wide open to catch the warm air.  The fan on so it’s just a little cool.  Outside the crickets and tree toads play their melody and lull us to sleep.

In July, at the peak of summer, the world has come alive with renewal and is rejuvenated.  The days feel like they will never end.  Winter is just a distant memory.

13 thoughts on “In July

  1. Ooooh! I can’t wait until winter is a distant memory! I really like some of your word choice, like, “no more hurrying” and “let the lazy days… commence… outdoors” Lovely to read and makes me want to put away my winter sweaters!

  2. I loved this line, “Everything leans a little higher – toward the sun, in July.” That just made me smile. I long for summer even more after reading this.

  3. I agree with Kim, not lame at all. Makes me long for summer, even though I know it will be hot. I like the sound of this line, “Outside the crickets and tree toads play their melody and lull us to sleep.”

  4. Carrie, my class just finished an author study on Cynthia Rylant and they need to read this. We tried to write like Cynthia after we read Snow. Someone had an idea to change the title to Rain and then we wrote what we think and feel when it rains in our own unique Rylant influenced style. Then they asked if they could write it on raindrops and if I could please draw a large umbrella and so I have to figure out how to draw a large umbrella. 🙂 We are Rylant lovers in Room 24! Now on to Jonathan London. Let’s hope they love him just as much! I can’t wait to share with them how adults try things like this too and adults try it because writing is fun.

    1. Thanks Jill! It was fun…but a little scary too. I thought I couldn’t do it. Everyone’s comments mean so much. That’s all your students will need. A little encouragement goes SUCH a long way! But then, you know that. 🙂

  5. We learn so much when we imitate the style of writers we admire. it is important in developing our own craft. It is akin to walking in a giant’s shoes for a few steps. We learn things we can share with our students and our pedagogy is enhanced because of the lessons we bring to the teaching we do. Well done on this excellent piece of writing. Your piece provides living proof of the value of reading like writers.

  6. In November is one of my favorite books I used in the classroom. I love your July month. I feel the warmth and look forward to it again this year.

  7. Carrie, I could totally see you writing books…….Who knew at the start of all this you would end up a “real’ author? ……You really do amaze me!! I love your July…..it’s filled with all things that make summer fabulous……

Leave a Reply

