Learning to Think for Myself

sols_6

I have one sister; she’s 7 years older than me. Growing up I also felt like I had another sister; my cousin who is 3 years older than me. I guess as a younger girl I felt a little closer to my cousin because of our ages.  She lived a couple of hours from us, in the same town as my grandparents. That was a bonus-every time we visited one we got to see the other!  I have lots of great memories from those years….future slices 😉

I looked up to my cousin Tracie.  I would do just about anything she told, I mean suggested, I do.  One Thanksgiving , when Tracie was visiting our house, she convinced me that it would be a good idea for me to deposit myself in the laundry shoot, that was in my parents’ 2nd floor bedroom, and slide down it to the laundry room, which was in the basement.  She didn’t have to do too much convincing.  She said I would go slowly and probably land on my feet.  I thought she knew what she was talking about.  Not true!  Everyone was on the main floor, cooking in the kitchen and BOOM!  I was laying flat on the floor in between the ironing board and the clothes hamper. Our turkey dinner was a little late that year due to a quick trip to the ER.  I’m happy to report there we’re no broken bones….just a bruised ego!

It took me awhile to figure out that I should think for myself and not just blindly follow my cousin’s prodding.  But, not before she said if I ran really fast I could clear that fence in the backyard in the pitch black night. I still have the scar under my chin from that one.  Live and learn…..

9 thoughts on “Learning to Think for Myself

  1. This was so funny….I felt like I was at your house when you flew down the clothes shoot! Lucky you had not broken bones. It is amazing what an older sibling…cousin…or friend can encourage the youngster to do…all in fun…but not without a few bruises. I, too, am looking forward to more cousin stories. Your writing has such a nice flow it brought me right into your story. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  2. Too funny! I can just imagine crawling in to that chute thinking you were going to have the time of your life. I bet it was a blast for the quarter of a second between letting go and landing!

Leave a Reply

