A Rainbow Taking a Dip

As I sat down on my couch last night, after a long day of shopping, I was ready to write my SOL.  I wasn’t sure what I wanted to write. So, I did what I always do when I need to think. I looked out my window for inspiration. What did I see?  A beautifully fantastic rainbow hanging right over the lake!  Actually it was more like one quarter of a rainbow and it was dipping it’s end into the water.  I could sense it was coming before it even appeared. The sky was a mixture of fog, sun setting, and clouds.  You know how sometimes you just know when a rainbow is somewhere in the sky? 

We gathered by the window to gaze at it’s beauty. I called my mom on the phone so she could look out her window and see the same shiny rainbow. She loved it. We all loved it. And then….it was gone.  So nice to enjoy a beautiful moment before it got lost in the wide open lake waters. So nice of that rainbow to come along and provide a slice – a true small, but heavenly moment.

11 thoughts on “A Rainbow Taking a Dip

  1. Beautiful imagery. I loved that you took the moment to savor in the beauty of the rainbow. Glad you were able to share it with your loved ones, too. 🙂

    ~Jennifer

  2. Seems like such a small thing, but you captured it really well with words. I love the idea of sensing the rainbow before it happens! And then you followed it up with “You know how sometimes you just know when a rainbow is somewhere in the sky?”. That had me thinking of a lot of things – not just rainbows. I’m putting it in my notebook for later.
    The image of you and your mom in 2 separate places looking at the same rainbow is sweet to me. 🙂

  3. I liked that you all gathered to watch the rainbow and that you called your mother. It sounds beautiful that you live on a lake…and then the rainbow formed right over it mingled in the fog. I can picture it in my mind. So nice that people stop and look, take in and enjoy nature’s gift. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  4. I took a deep breath as I read this…..I could picture the the lake, picture the rainbow, and picture you and your mother sharing the special moment……such a perfect moment, such a perfect piece…..you are pretty darned good at this writing stuff, Carrie:-)

Leave a Reply

