Music Memories

I have loved music my whole life. I think I should have been born earlier because the music of the late ’60’s and early ’70’s are my favorite. Somehow I know the words to the rock music from that time, and I was only 8 and 9 years old when some of the music that I love today was most popular. Give me a Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton, or Janis Joplin album any day over the music I hear on the radio driving in my car.
When I was 11, my best friend Karen and I sat on her living room floor and wrote down all the words we heard to every song on Elton John’s “Don’t Shoot Me, I’m Only the Piano Player” album. What pre-teen listens to a song like “Elderberry Wine” over and over and over again?? ….I guess that’s how I know the lyrics to so many songs! It also didn’t hurt that my sister, who is 7 years older than me, had wild parties with all that music playing all night.
It really amazes me how music make me feel. So many memories are tied to certain songs. Some are good, others are sad. The song, “Memories”, by Barbara Striesand, was playing when we told my aunt that my father died. I think I remember everything about that moment because of the song. We were eating pizza at Alferno’s and it was very late at night. It seemed so sad to me, even at the age of 12, that we were listening to a song called, Memories, and that was actually all we had. That is the power of music.

2 thoughts on “Music Memories

  1. I’ve loved it too…when I have the radio cranked up in the car people who are walking around look like they are moving to the beat. I always remember where I was when a song was playing on my transistor radio and who I was with, especially on those hot summer nights! I bet you can guess my age. xo

Leave a Reply

